R21 Malaria Vaccine in 2026: 25 Countries, 39 Million Doses and the $2.99 Price That Decides Who Gets Protected

Majid Khan
26 Min Read

The R21 malaria vaccine is a four-dose, Oxford-developed shot now in routine immunisation in 25 African countries at $2.99 per dose.

>

  • Price: cut 25% from roughly $4.00 to $2.99 per dose in November 2025 by Gavi, UNICEF and the Serum Institute of India.
  • Scale: over 39 million malaria vaccine doses delivered to African countries by late January 2026 (Gavi).
  • Efficacy: around 75% in Phase 3 trials over the first year after the primary series, in seasonal transmission settings.
  • Schedule: doses at 6, 7, 9 and 15 months — the fourth dose is where coverage is lost.

The R21 malaria vaccine shifted from constrained pilot programmes to mass pediatric immunisation between 2025 and 2026, and as of 15 October 2026 the limiting factor is no longer money or supply. Twenty-five malaria-endemic African countries have introduced malaria vaccines into routine immunisation. Over 39 million doses had been delivered by late January 2026, according to Gavi. The bulk price now sits at $2.99 per dose. That price matters because donor immunisation budgets are fixed in dollars rather than doses, which means a 25% reduction unlocked roughly 30 million additional doses from the same pot of funding. Price therefore determines volume, volume determines coverage, and coverage determines how many of the 597,000 to 610,000 annual malaria deaths — over 75% of them children under five in Africa, according to WHO — are averted. This article covers the funding mechanics, the country list, the efficacy evidence and the realistic routes for implementers.

Author: Written by the billgates.pk editorial desk, which tracks Gates Foundation and Gavi global health financing — amounts, recipients, timelines and deadlines — and separates institutional positions from the personal views of Bill Gates.

Transparency: All figures in this article are sourced to WHO, Gavi, UNICEF, the Serum Institute of India and published trial evidence, and are current as of 15 October 2026. This is editorial analysis of funding and policy, not medical advice. Individual vaccination questions belong with a qualified clinician.

What Is the R21 Malaria Vaccine? (And Why 2026 Is the Decisive Year)

The R21 malaria vaccine, also called R21/Matrix-M, is a protein-based vaccine against Plasmodium falciparum malaria developed by the University of Oxford’s Jenner Institute, manufactured by the Serum Institute of India and adjuvanted with Novavax’s Matrix-M technology. WHO recommended it in October 2023, and routine national rollout began in 2024.

Attribute Detail
Developer University of Oxford (Jenner Institute)
Manufacturer Serum Institute of India
Adjuvant Matrix-M (Novavax)
WHO recommendation October 2023
Dose schedule 4 doses at 6, 7, 9 and 15 months
Price per dose $2.99 (Gavi/UNICEF, from November 2025)

Three variables moved at once, which is why 2026 is the decisive year. WHO prequalification and recommendation removed the regulatory barrier. Serum Institute’s manufacturing capacity removed the supply barrier. The November 2025 pricing agreement removed the price barrier. Consequently 2026 is the first year in which the binding constraint on coverage is delivery and dropout rather than doses or dollars. The adjuvant is central to that economics: Matrix-M amplifies the immune response to a smaller quantity of antigen, which means more doses can be produced per batch of antigen and the unit cost falls. Dose-sparing is not a marketing detail here — it is the reason a vaccine built on decades of publicly funded Plasmodium falciparum research, catalogued by bodies including the National Institutes of Health, could reach a sub-$3 price point at all.

Why $2.99 Per Dose Decides Who Gets Protected

In November 2025, Gavi and UNICEF agreed an equitable pricing deal with the Serum Institute of India that cut the bulk malaria vaccine price per dose by 25%, from approximately $4.00 to $2.99.

Metric Figure Source
Previous price per dose ~$4.00 Gavi, November 2025
New price per dose $2.99 Gavi/UNICEF, November 2025
Size of reduction 25% Gavi, November 2025
Projected savings Up to $90 million Gavi
Additional doses funded 30 million Gavi
Additional children protected by 2030 ~7 million Gavi
Financing mechanism IFFIm Gavi

The arithmetic is unforgiving and that is precisely why it works in children’s favour. Donor immunisation budgets are denominated in dollars, not doses, so a lower unit price converts directly into volume. Gavi projects up to $90 million in savings from the November 2025 agreement, which funds roughly 30 million additional doses and protects nearly 7 million more children by 2030. Run the division per child: a complete four-dose course falls from about $16.00 to about $11.96 in vaccine cost per fully immunised child. As a result, an unchanged budget covers roughly a third more children — a reallocation achieved without a single new donor pledge.

The mechanism behind the discount is the International Finance Facility for Immunisation, and it deserves more attention than it gets. IFFIm issues bonds against future donor pledges, which front-loads cash and allows Gavi to place large, guaranteed multi-year orders today rather than annual orders sized to this year’s receipts. Because a manufacturer can plan capacity against a committed volume, it accepts a lower margin per dose and still improves its return on invested plant. This is the causal link most coverage misses: the price fell because demand was made predictable, not because of goodwill.

“Protect more children faster and move toward a malaria-free future.”
— Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, WHO Director-General, on demand for the first malaria vaccine far exceeding supply

The 25 Countries Using R21/Matrix-M in 2026

As of 2026, 25 malaria-endemic African countries have introduced malaria vaccines into routine immunisation, and over 39 million doses had been delivered by late January 2026 according to Gavi.

Year Countries introduced Named examples
2024 14 countries Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Nigeria
2025 7 countries Burundi, Uganda, Mali, Guinea, Togo, Ethiopia, Zambia
2026 1 country Guinea-Bissau
Total 25 countries 39 million+ doses delivered

Adoption clustered in waves because three gates opened in sequence rather than simultaneously: WHO recommendation, Gavi application and approval windows, and Serum Institute supply availability. Fourteen countries introduced in 2024, seven followed in 2025, and Guinea-Bissau became the latest in 2026. One clarification matters for anyone citing the headline number: the 39 million total covers both R21/Matrix-M and the earlier RTS,S product, so attributing the full figure to one vaccine overstates it.

Ethiopia: 58 Districts, 91,000 Children

Ethiopia launched R21/Matrix-M on 21 October 2025 across 58 high-burden districts in nine regions, targeting over 91,000 children in its initial phase on the four-dose schedule at 6, 7, 9 and 15 months. The targeting logic is deliberate: because the initial allocation was limited, concentrating doses where transmission is highest delivers the most deaths averted per dose administered.

“Ethiopia’s introduction of the malaria vaccine is a bold and commendable step. It reflects the country’s unwavering commitment to protecting its children and building a resilient health system.”
— Dr Francis Chisaka Kasolo, WHO Representative in Ethiopia

Zambia: 83 Districts, 500,000 Children

On 27 October 2025, Zambia’s Ministry of Health integrated R21/Matrix-M into its Expanded Programme on Immunisation, targeting over 500,000 children aged 6–8 months across 83 districts. Integration into the existing EPI rather than a standalone campaign matters, because it means doses ride on contacts families already attend.

“This vaccine gives us new hope as it is a powerful tool to protect our children… However, let’s not forget that this vaccine comes to complement existing interventions such as insecticide-treated nets [and] indoor spraying.”
— Hon. Elijah Muchima, Minister of Health, Zambia

How Well Does R21/Matrix-M Actually Work?

In Phase 3 trials, the R21 malaria vaccine showed efficacy of around 75% against clinical malaria in the 12 months following the primary three-dose series, reducing malaria cases by more than half during that first year after vaccination.

What the Evidence Shows

  • Efficacy: approximately 75% against clinical malaria in the year following the primary series (Phase 3)
  • Case reduction: more than half of malaria episodes averted in that first year
  • Age group studied: young children, the group carrying the highest mortality risk
  • Safety profile: side effects reported in infants were predominantly mild and short-lived — fever, pain and swelling at the injection site
  • Durability: protection declines after the primary series, so the 15-month fourth dose is required to extend it
  • Positioning: WHO recommends use alongside insecticide-treated nets, indoor residual spraying and prompt diagnosis and treatment

That 75% figure needs its context attached, because efficacy was highest in seasonal-transmission settings where doses were timed ahead of the transmission peak; real-world effectiveness in perennial-transmission areas therefore differs and is still being measured. Protection wanes after the primary series, which is the entire reason the 15-month booster exists. Stated plainly: the vaccine reduces the risk of clinical malaria rather than removing it, and WHO positions it as an addition to nets, spraying and prompt treatment, not a substitute for them. The baseline against which any reduction is measured remains roughly 597,000 to 610,000 malaria deaths globally in 2023/2024, with independent burden estimates from bodies such as the University of Washington’s Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation serving as a check on funder-published projections.

The Four-Dose Schedule: 6, 7, 9 and 15 Months

A child needs four doses — at 6, 7, 9 and 15 months of age — and protection depends on completing all four, because the efficacy measured in trials reflects the full schedule rather than a partial course.

The R21/Matrix-M Dose Schedule

  1. Dose 1 at 6 months — begins the primary series
  2. Dose 2 at 7 months — one month after dose 1
  3. Dose 3 at 9 months — completes the primary series, commonly given alongside measles vaccination
  4. Dose 4 at 15 months — booster that extends protection as the primary response wanes

The fourth dose falls at 15 months, outside the tight cluster of infant visits families already attend, which means dropout concentrates there. Consequently a programme reporting strong first-dose coverage can still deliver far fewer fully protected children, and the two numbers should never be read as interchangeable. The operational response is co-scheduling: countries are aligning dose four with existing 15-month contacts such as the second measles dose, because attaching a new dose to an established visit is the cheapest available way to recover completion rates.

R21/Matrix-M vs RTS,S: Price, Supply and Coverage Compared

R21/Matrix-M is the cheaper of the two WHO-recommended malaria vaccines at $2.99 per dose and is available at substantially higher volume, which is why most 2025–2026 national introductions selected it over RTS,S.

Criterion R21/Matrix-M RTS,S (Mosquirix)
Developer University of Oxford (Jenner Institute) GSK
Manufacturer Serum Institute of India GSK
Adjuvant Matrix-M (Novavax) Not stated
WHO recommendation year 2023 Recommended before R21
Price per dose (Gavi/UNICEF) $2.99 Not stated
Dose schedule 4 doses (6, 7, 9, 15 months) 4 doses
Annual supply capacity Over 100 million doses (manufacturer-stated) Supply-constrained relative to demand

WHO has stated there is no evidence of a clinically meaningful difference in protection between the two vaccines, therefore the choice facing a ministry of health is driven by price and supply rather than efficacy. Serum Institute’s manufacturing scale is the decisive variable: because the manufacturer states capacity well above 100 million doses a year, countries are no longer rationed into pilot-sized allocations as they were under the supply constraint Dr Tedros described during the first malaria vaccine rollout. Dr Matshidiso Moeti, WHO Regional Director for Africa, framed the same point as the new vaccine offering “real potential to close the supply-demand gap.”

Who Pays for 39 Million Doses: Gavi, Gates and Donor Maths

Malaria vaccine doses are paid for by a chain of actors rather than a single funder: Gavi finances the bulk of the purchase, UNICEF Supply Division runs procurement, national governments co-finance a rising share, and the Gates Foundation funds the research, market-shaping and delivery evidence that surrounds the purchase.

Who Does What in the Funding Chain

  • Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance — finances dose purchase and negotiates price; applications come from national governments
  • IFFIm — front-loads donor pledges into bond proceeds so Gavi can commit to multi-year volumes
  • UNICEF Supply Division — runs the tender and procures doses against Gavi financing
  • Serum Institute of India — manufactures and supplies at the agreed $2.99 price
  • National ministries of health — co-finance a rising share per dose and own delivery through the EPI
  • Gates Foundation — funds R&D, market-shaping and delivery research rather than routine dose procurement
  • WHO — sets the recommendation, prequalifies product and issues the schedule guidance countries follow

Co-financing is the under-discussed half of the price story. Gavi requires recipient governments to pay a share of every dose, and that share rises as national income rises until the country self-finances entirely. As a result, the $2.99 price reduces the government’s own bill as well as the donor’s, which lowers the political cost of introducing a new four-dose antigen and explains part of the speed of 2025–2026 adoption. One practical caution for researchers: Gavi does not award grants to individual institutions for dose purchase, because its support flows to governments through national immunisation applications.

For implementers and researchers, the realistic routes are therefore three. First, partnership with a national EPI, which owns delivery and reporting. Second, Gavi health systems and immunisation strengthening support, accessed through the government rather than independently. Third, Gates Foundation open calls focused on delivery, coverage measurement and malaria tools — and anyone building a proposal against that third route should understand how Gates Foundation global health funding is structured, reported and measured before writing a line of it.

What Still Blocks Coverage: Dropout, Geography and Awareness

With price and supply largely resolved, the binding constraint has moved to delivery. 2026 research from the Niger Delta, published as a preprint and therefore to be weighted as regional, not-yet-peer-reviewed evidence, found childhood immunisation coverage remains uneven because of socioeconomic disadvantage, distance to facilities and health-system capacity. Which means the four-dose R21 regimen is exposed to exactly the failure modes that already suppress routine immunisation. The supply shortage that defined the RTS,S era has largely eased; dropout has replaced it as the main loss point.

Where Protection Is Lost

  • Fourth-dose dropout at 15 months — fully protected children fall well below first-dose coverage
  • Distance and seasonal road access — remote districts miss scheduled contacts entirely
  • Caregiver awareness of a four-visit schedule — partial courses treated as complete
  • Health-worker capacity and cold-chain strain in high-burden districts
  • Residual supply and allocation gaps where national introduction outpaces district readiness

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the R21/Matrix-M malaria vaccine?

It is a four-dose malaria vaccine developed by the University of Oxford, manufactured by the Serum Institute of India and adjuvanted with Novavax’s Matrix-M. WHO recommended it in October 2023. It targets Plasmodium falciparum malaria in young children, the group carrying the highest mortality risk across endemic African countries.

How much does the R21 malaria vaccine cost per dose in 2026?

The R21 malaria vaccine costs $2.99 per dose under the Gavi and UNICEF agreement with the Serum Institute of India announced in November 2025, down 25% from approximately $4.00. This is the bulk public-sector procurement price negotiated for Gavi-supported countries, not a private market or travel-clinic price.

How many countries use the R21 malaria vaccine?

Twenty-five African countries have introduced malaria vaccines into routine immunisation as of 2026 — 14 from 2024, seven during 2025 and Guinea-Bissau in 2026. The figure covers both R21/Matrix-M and RTS,S programmes together, so it should not be read as R21-only adoption.

How effective is the R21 malaria vaccine?

Phase 3 trials showed efficacy of around 75% against clinical malaria in the 12 months after the primary series, cutting cases by more than half. Efficacy was highest where doses were timed before seasonal transmission peaks, and protection wanes after the primary series without the 15-month booster dose.

How many doses of the malaria vaccine does a child need?

Four doses, given at 6, 7, 9 and 15 months of age. The first three form the primary series and the fourth is a booster that extends protection. Trial efficacy reflects the complete schedule, therefore partial courses offer less protection than the published figures suggest.

What is the difference between R21/Matrix-M and RTS,S?

Both are WHO-recommended and WHO has stated there is no evidence of a clinically meaningful difference in protection, but R21/Matrix-M is cheaper at $2.99 per dose and available at far higher volume. They differ in adjuvant and manufacturer: Matrix-M and the Serum Institute of India versus GSK’s RTS,S.

Why did Gavi reduce the malaria vaccine price to $2.99?

Because committing to large multi-year volumes through IFFIm bond financing allowed the Serum Institute of India to accept a lower margin per dose. Gavi projects up to $90 million in savings, which funds 30 million additional doses and protects nearly 7 million more children by 2030.

How many malaria vaccine doses have been delivered in Africa?

Over 39 million doses had been delivered to endemic African countries by late January 2026, according to Gavi. That total spans both R21/Matrix-M and RTS,S, and it reflects doses shipped into routine immunisation programmes rather than doses actually administered to children.

Is the R21 malaria vaccine safe for infants?

WHO recommends it for young children from 5 months of age, and reported side effects in trials were predominantly mild and short-lived — fever and injection-site pain or swelling. National programmes continue post-introduction safety monitoring. Individual questions about a specific child belong with a qualified clinician.

Who funds the malaria vaccine rollout and how do organisations apply for funding?

Gavi finances dose purchase, UNICEF Supply Division procures, national governments co-finance a rising share and the Gates Foundation funds research and delivery evidence. Gavi applications come from national governments, so implementers and researchers engage through national EPI partnerships or Gates Foundation open calls instead.

Limitations of the Evidence and What the Vaccine Does Not Do

The approximately 75% efficacy figure comes from Phase 3 trials in which dosing was timed against seasonal transmission. Real-world effectiveness in perennial-transmission settings is still being measured, which means national impact estimates carry genuine uncertainty and should be read as projections rather than observed outcomes. Protection wanes after the primary series, and long-term duration beyond the 15-month booster remains under study; no published evidence currently supports indefinite protection.

The 39 million figure counts doses delivered, not children fully vaccinated. These are different measures, and conflating them overstates coverage — a point worth holding onto whenever a headline converts doses into protected children. Independent burden-of-disease measurement serves as a useful counterweight to funder-published impact projections for this reason.

On alternatives and complements, the position is straightforward and matches Minister Muchima’s framing in Zambia: insecticide-treated nets, indoor residual spraying, seasonal malaria chemoprevention, prompt diagnosis and artemisinin-based treatment remain essential, and the vaccine complements rather than replaces them. All figures here are current as of 15 October 2026. Prices, country counts and dose totals change as rollouts proceed and should be re-checked against WHO, Gavi and UNICEF primary pages.

What to Watch Between Now and 2030

The R21 malaria vaccine has moved from approval to implementation, and the deciding variable is now completion rather than cost — because a dose financed at $2.99 saves no life until the fourth visit happens. Three indicators will show whether the arithmetic holds. First, fourth-dose completion rates as reported by national EPIs, which separate doses delivered from children protected. Second, whether the $2.99 price holds as Gavi’s replenishment cycle proceeds and donor commitments are tested. Third, whether the nearly 7 million additional children projected by 2030 actually appear in coverage data rather than only in projections.

Read more for continuing coverage of Gates Foundation global health funding — amounts, recipients and deadlines.

References

  1. World Health Organization — malaria vaccine recommendation, schedule guidance and global malaria mortality: https://www.who.int/
  2. Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance — November 2025 pricing agreement, IFFIm financing, dose delivery totals and co-financing policy: https://www.gavi.org/
  3. UNICEF — Supply Division procurement role and joint pricing announcement: https://www.unicef.org/
  4. Novavax — Matrix-M adjuvant technology: https://www.novavax.com/
  5. National Institutes of Health — malaria biology and vaccine development background: https://www.nih.gov/
  6. University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation — independent burden-of-disease estimates: https://www.washington.edu/
  7. Preprints.org — 2026 childhood immunisation coverage research, Niger Delta (preprint): https://www.preprints.org/
  8. Serum Institute of India — manufacturer-stated capacity and supply: https://www.seruminstitute.com/
Share This Article
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *